Drunken Stupor

i’ve fallen!


i stumble home as the sun comes up,

drunk as cooder brown,

puke still dribbling down

my chin.

the key won’t fit, and out comes a “sh*t!”

car key, door key,

why me?

now who the h*ell has

moved my couch?!

ouch!  that hurt!

as i hit the floor,

i’m laughing loud and hardy,

as i recall

“i’ve fallen and i can’t get up!”

laughter overtakes me and i say it again.

but i get up just the same,

can’t even remember my name,

and this sure ain’t no pretty picture.

never again, oh, never again,

i promise the porcelain god.

i swear, I swear – never again!

just, please, make it stop!

i sit there, gathering my composure,

stinking of gin,

wondering when

i’ve felt like this before.

right:  last weekend,

me and a no-count friend.

oops!  here comes that ‘tini, again.

that one was apple.

wasn’t there a cherry one down there?

that’s the one that needs to come up for air.

one shoe off, lying on the bed,

one too many drinks in my head;

room still spinning,

and i’m still grinning at something that

wasn’t nearly that funny.

so, how much money did i spend this time?

i swear – if you make it stop,

i’ll never do this again.

please, oh please . . . make it stop!

copyright  2008 © blackstarr (aka freedom)

freerealm@gmail.com

“Mama Told Me Not To Come” by Three Dog Night

2 Responses to “Drunken Stupor”

  1. Hey! You’ve been M.I.A. Didn’t think I noticed huh? Your presence has been sorely missed my brotha! 😉

  2. Actually, I didn’t think that you noticed. I am, however, so glad that you did. I began to question it all. Realized that I’ll never be happy unless I’m kickin’ the “angry black man” persona. So . … look out – my political side is making its return. Thx for the holla. Peace.

Leave a Reply

