Obamaholics Anonymous

Hi.  My name is Freedom, and I’m an Obamaholic.  I attended every rally that I possibly could attend during the O-man’s campaign.  I collected buttons, fliers, shirts, and posters that carried his likeness.  I watched intently every time he spoke to us on the tube.  I helped to rally the troops in any way that I could.  My name is Freedom, and I’m an Obamaholic.

I had to insert that into this post as what follows may lead you to believe that I have become a hater.  That would be miles from the truth.  This post may lead you to believe that I have become as fervently against the O-man as I have been for him.  That, too, would be far from the truth.  The truth is that it is what it is and I can tell it no other way.  Both during and after the campaigning and election, there were two prominent notions that I heard around the net:  first, that we must do our part to bring about change, and secondly, the phrase “I’m not looking for a savior, just a president who will do a good job”.  Both are worthy statements, but, I view the situation differently.

Most of us, those of us who are “feeling the crunch”, are already doing our parts.  As I have stated previously, most of us struggle with the idea of going to a job that we hate, that pays too little, and leaves us wondering just how in the world  we will make it through.  A lot of us could have very well opted to lead a lucrative life of crime, but chose to do the right thing, instead, and hoped that our leaders would pull us out of this quagmire in which we find ourselves.  Each and every day, we send our children off to schools that we know are sub-standard and do our best to instill a coinciding education into our children’s minds when they return home from school.  There are many among us who have insufficient health care and pay through the nose for the overpriced prescriptions that they are given, then, sit in silent suffering.  That is doing our part.  That is doing our fair share.  As much as we may wish, as much as we may dream, we, the people, CANNOT pass laws that will insure that we are paid a proper wage for a properly done job.  We, the people, CANNOT pass laws that will provide a better education for our children.  We, the people, CANNOT pass laws that will see to it that the citizens of this nation receive quality and affordable health care.  Those responsibilities lie in the hands of our elected officials.  We have done, and continue to do our part.  Once elected, it is their turn to do their parts.

Most recently, it seems to be the sentiment of the netizens that our president-elect should not be viewed as some kind of messiah that will step in and save the day.  The sentiment seems to be that everyone is hopeful but few are expressing the idea that a change will actually come about as we have been expecting it to come.  I take a different point of view, in that I cast my vote each and every time I vote expecting just that – a messiah that will step in and save the day.  It is my feeling that we, the people, elect politicians to serve the people and to do our bidding.  If we elect someone whom we believe will enact laws to enhance our lives, and they fail to do so, then those elected officials need to be voted out and replaced by someone who will get the job done.  If I might reiterate the previous paragraph, they, and they only, have the power to enact laws.  WE CANNOT DO IT OURSELVES.  The people that we elect to serve have a responsibility to the people to turn this country and its citizens into the entity that the United States of America should be.  Having duly aided in electing a viable candidate into office, not only do I hope that our president-elect will be a messiah who steps in to save the day, but, I believe that we have every right to EXPECT a messiah that will step in and save the day.

Hi.  My name is Freedom, and I’m a Obamaholic and I say . . . bring it on! Peace.

copyright  ©  2008  freedom

freerealm@gmail.com

“POLITICIAN”, by Cream

4 Responses to “Obamaholics Anonymous”

  1. freedom,

    In short, you need a course in economics. And maybe a dose of reality.

    You wrote:

    “A lot of us could have very well opted to lead a lucrative life of crime, but chose to do the right thing…”

    Do you know anyone who has lived a life of crime? Where has it led?

    If you were to pursue this life of crime, what form of crime would you choose?

    You wrote:

    “…we send our children off to schools that we know are sub-standard…”

    What makes the schools substandard? Is it the school buildings? The teachers? The administration? The curriculum? Or do the students themselves bring a lot of problems to school?

  2. Hi freedom (that is what they say back after you say hi it’s me)

    Anyway. . .I agree with no_slappz about the schools. or not agree cause those were questions. I do think that some of our schools are sub-standard because of the attitudes of the students and their parents.
    Try and tell a parent their child was misbehaving and see who they get mad at.

  3. He is not a messiah, he is a man, going to a new job, with a new office, who has to run his ideas through other people, just like we do. He will probably hit brick walls wherever he turns, because some don’t want him to have the job.

    I voted because I wanted a change. I am hoping he is able to at least undo the last 8 years of crap that Bush spewed onto this country. I don’t think he can undo or even put a dent in it in his first 4 years. I think he deserves a chance to at least get in office before people start praying toward the east.

  4. @no_slappz

    What makes the schools sub-standard? All of the above that you mentioned, but, without the emphasis that you seem to put on the students. Yes – some parents need to discipline their children more so that they don’t contribute to the problem. I live in the city, where the school buildings are dilapidated and inadequate. I see the public schools in the suburbs that have lacrosse fields, stadiums, and swimming pools – all missing from the city schools. That’s my dose of reality that you spoke of.

    I see families moving from the cities so that their children can go to these schools because they are infinitely better. I had to remove my children from public school and place them into charter schools (similar to public schools) and there was quite a difference – teachers taught with a passion and with fire in their eyes, and children learned because there weren’t thirty-five students in a class, and the school administrations were free to run their curriculum as they saw fit. As a result, they (charter schools) tend to be a great deal better.

    That solves the problem for a few families, but what about the rest? It should not be necessary to look for some alternative means of education – a proper one should already be provided for by the government.
    Lucrative lives of crime? I see them everyday dealing drugs and selling stolen items on corners. I see them embezzling funds from their jobs. I see them sitting on city council as assemblymen and women. Where has it led? To some fat pockets and eventually to jail. If I were to pursue . . . I wouldn’t – I’m smarter than that and never suggested that we resort to such. Since you mentioned it, I guess the best life of crime would be to become a Republican politician . . . particularly the likes of G Dubya or Cheney. What better example of lucrative crime?

    @sharon

    If those “fixes” were in place, then we would not find parents having to come to school to argue with the school leaders about their child’s behavior. An environment that promotes learning, also promotes a zeal in students that takes their focus away from being disruptive, it creates a thirst for learning in even the most rowdy, disruptive students. The onus is first on the parent (and as I’ve said “most of us are already doing our job”), then it’s on the school to promote such an environment.

    @shaeshae
    First of all, don’t get me wrong – I am NOT criticizing the O-man. I am still one of his number one fans!! It’s way too early for that, if in fact it even becomes necessary.
    I suppose that the literal translation of “messiah” is wrong, but, the inferred meaning is what I had in mind, as in our “Mr. Fix-it”, the “cure-all”. I say that because I liken our politicians to everyone else in our society – workers hired by an employer. In This case the president and his cronies are the hirees who have been hired by the employer – the people. Like all others, if they do not do a good – great job, then they get fired. Consider a contractor that I hire to re-do my house. If I spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to have my house made “like new”, then that is precisely what I expect. I (as in we, the people) have “hired” a president-elect to do a job. If he (the contractor) and his cronies (subcontractors) don’t do what I (we, the people) asked them to do, then they need to be removed from their jobs so that some qualified person can do it.
    Yes – I expect . . . I demand . . . a “messiah” when I hire someone to do a job. In my book, the president-elect is no different. Nobody gets a pass – you know that!!

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

