Hang on, there, Skippy!

obama-smileyGuess who’s not angry, today?  Right – me.  Don’t get me wrong, though.  I’m not about to burst into a chorus of “Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy”.  But I’m, at least, not angry.  “Why is that?”, one might ask.  It’s because it’s just sinking in.  I’m just starting to get it, just starting to get it that he won.  Yeah – my son and I had our election night party and witnessed it from beginning to end, but, today, it’s just beginning to sink in.

I am a bit miffed – not angry – that so many around the net are chastising our president-elect even before he has had a chance to unpack.  So many people are expecting so much, and rightly so.  However, I think that we need to give the man a moment to gather his thoughts before we crucify him so quickly, especially considering the fact that he had not yet been given a chance to show what he’s got.

When my kids were young, we went to every – and I do mean EVERY – school program that was held.  Keep in mind that my kids grew up as “perfect angels”.  That’s no exaggeration.  I spanked my son one day while at the mall when he decided to “show off”.    My son’s spanking came when he was six tears old, and he’s now twenty-three, with nary a spanking in between.  In her 21 years, I’ve never had to physically chastise my daughter.  “Perfect angels”.  Be that as it may, my mother has always had a very annoying habit of “judging” us by the works of others.  That is to say, she would see other children acting up, and immediately go into “If I ever catch you acting like that I will give you the whoopin’ of your life, you hear me?” Neither me and my siblings nor our children were ever allowed to produce any back-talk, but, in our minds, there was but one thought:  “Why are we being reprimanded for someone else’s bad deeds?”.  I see the same type of “reprimanding” taking place with our president-elect.

“So, are we going to find out that this change was nothing more than a different face in the Oval Office?”

“This change that he talked about had better not be some run-of-the-mill trick that we’ve all seen before!”

“As quickly as he was elected, he can be taken out of office!”

People, chill for a minute, would ya??!!! Let the man make a grave mistake before you reprimand him.  Let him prove that he is no more than another politician with a silver tongue before you remind him of how he made it into office and how easily he can be removed.  Let him show us that he and his crew is, indeed, not ready to lead before you get all up in arms about being reminded of previous administrations.  Or, . . . or even better than that . . . think about it . . . why don’t you give him a chance to show us that he is, as he said, “Change That We Can Believe In”.  Peace.

copyright  ©  2008  freedom

freerealm@gmail.com

Quite appropriately, I present “Give Me Just A Little More Time” by The Chairman Of The Board

Obama 08 Smiley Face from FLICKER.

5 Responses to “Hang on, there, Skippy!”

  1. […] on, there, Skippy! Posted in November 12th, 2008 by in Uncategorized Hang on, there, Skippy! Guess who’s not angry, today?  Right – me.  Don’t get me wrong, though.  I’m […]

  2. Causes for criticsm you need? I’ve got four words for you:

    Jennifer. Granholm. Rahm. Emanuel.

    I could be wrong (and I’m hoping to God I am), but selections like these represent early poor decision-making abilities from the good President-elect from Illinois.

    The Granholm pick was just strange. No two ways about it. She will go down as one of the worst governors in Michigan history and was in charge when the mighty GM collapsed.

    Rahm made a little more sense, but not enough. I don’t mind his conservative tendencies; I view that as a positive attribute. But while most Democrats have fought feverishly to end this war, Emanuel is every bit as aggressive and conservative as Bush is. Also, his support of disaster issues like NAFTA and unilateral support for Israel don’t even remotely align with Obama.

    I’m all for having varied interests and opinions working side by side, but this is ridiculous.

  3. Those are legitimate gripes. I don’t see what Obama’s advisers see in Granholm. And, yes, Emanuel makes a bit more sense, but, there are others who would have been far better choices.

  4. People are truly bashing the man before he even moves into the White House. It took Bush 8 years to start a war, which spawned the worse recession since the depression, send record numbers of troops off to die and turn away most of our allies. At least let Obama move in and unpack.

  5. That’s what I’m saying. The administrations of old have meticulously destroyed what we were. It didn’t come to be overnight. Now, the moment Obama steps in (not even in the door yet), folks want him crucified and lay claim that he’s no different than the rest. Sixty seconds, OK? Is that too much to ask? Peace.

Leave a Reply

