R.I.P. 11.09.2008

mmc3107064598b

MIRIAM MAKEBA

March 4, 1932 – November 9, 2009

“When I’ve Passed On”

4 Responses to “R.I.P. 11.09.2008”

  1. Miriam Makeba was one of those rare people who did more to tear down apartheid and social injustice with her voice than entire militaries could do with their strength of arms. She managed to inspired change when it was unpopular and impossible to do. Ironically, as we celebrate a new kind of change that came with electing Obama, she’s been a pioneer for change well before Nov. 4, 2008.

    It’s great to imagine God welcoming her home even as we pay tribute.

  2. Amen to that. She was quite the advocate for the oppressed and a thorn in the sides of those who oppressed. I loved her music, as well. She’s at rest, now.

  3. I must admit, I heard of her before but I am not really familiar with her. I have been reading about her since her death.

  4. Her music was ahead of its time, and her activism was almost without comparison. Check her out. Peace.

Leave a Reply

