Old School Flava: 7/16/2008

Disclaimer: Freedom is retired.  As such, I has no schedule and meet no deadlines unless I feel so lead.  I am introducing “Old School Flava” today (the way we said it, did it, expressed it back in the day, back in my generation).  That can cover music, language, lifestyles, customs and everything else.  Just because today is Wednesday, don’t come back next Wednesday looking for it, because it just might not be there.  Don’t get all up in arms because you stop by on a Saturday, and lo and behold, there it is.  Freedom is not scared of your lawsuits or your Johnny Cochran, so bring it on.  Freedom does what Freedom wants to do, when I want to do it.  Right about now, I take my lead from Maxwell: Whenever, Wherever, Whatever.  So, with that . . .

DANCE: Back in the day, a lot of songs were written about a new dance that had just come out.  The artists often explained how the dance was done.  I suppose that the greatest, most popular song was “The Twist” by Chubby Checker.  There was another dance called “The 81”, which was covered by two different songs and artists.  “The 81” by Archie Bell an the Drells, and there was another by the same name, female group, whose name I can’t recall (senior moment, as it were). Then, there was a fabulous song by The Dramatics, entitled “Get up, and Get Down”, which merely gave tribute to the way we danced.  There is one very memorable line in the song that goes “Look at mama, she’s tearin’ you up!” “Tearin’ you up” meant that someone has “out shined” you on the dance floor.  Another word that described pretty much the same thing was “squirreled”.  If you got squirreled, it meant that your dance partner’s steps were waaaay better than yours.  What do you kids say today?

Harmony:  It seems that the further we go back, the better the harmonizing was.  In recent history, we have Boys II Men, whose harmony touched souls from several generations.  If we go back a bit further, we come across KC and JoJo, who gave us “Tell Me It’s Real”, one of the best songs to come from that era  Even further back, we find Take 6, an a cappella group who, with its gospel influence, put us in mind of the Men’s Chorale at just about any Baptist church in town.

I plead with you to go back as far as the 1960’s and reminisce upon a group of a cappella singers known as The Persuasions.  In my humble opinion, this group presented the very best of a cappella singing and the greatest harmonizing ever.  EVER!! It is unfortunate that their album “We Came To Play” is no longer available, to my knowledge.  That album personified the flava of the group better than any of their other albums put together.  Since that is the case, Freedom offers you a small taste from another album, “Sincerely” with “Members Only”.

That’s Old School Flava for this week.  Enjoy.

copyright  ©  2008  freedom

freerealm@gmail.com

Flava Of The Day that I’m feeling is Sweet Sensual Love by Big Mountain.  Yeah!

4 Responses to “Old School Flava: 7/16/2008”

  1. This is some old school back in the day stuff.
    “You got squirreled”? That is so funny.

    I don’t know what they are saying to each other now (I’ll have to ask) but, I know ain’t squirreled.

    If I tell someone I’m going to tear them up. . .it ain’t about dancing. (smile).

    Well, do your thing on whatever day you feel like.

  2. freedom Says:

    If freedom is nothing else, he is old school. Ah . . . . the good old days! Definitely gotta do my thing. Peace.

  3. I feel you on the freedom thing. I used to do Throwback videos on whatever day I pleased. Problem was, I was throwing back every other day. LOL

  4. Shae-Shae –

    In previous blogs, I used to post a schedule, and as surely as I would put it out there, something would happen and I wouldn’t be able to post when I said I would. Being retired, I’d like to keep my schedule of “no schedule”, therefore, Freedom rules. Thanks for stopping by. Peace.

Leave a Reply

