Cant C Me

There probably has not been a more loyal fan of Tupac Shakur than yours truly.  First, though, a few “despites” -

despite the fact that I hate the “N” word and the “B” word, and

despite the fact that I am not an advocate of either profanity or violence, and

despite the fact that I am anti-drug abuse, I have always been in awe of Tupac and his musical genius.

Perhaps the one song that makes him stand out from the crowd more than any other song is “Can’t C Me”., from the CD “All Eyez On Me”.  The entire song is the epitome of his musical genius, but, let’s forget the entire song – the opening verse is the ultimate in word manipulation and lyrical sculpting.  In the event that you aren’t familiar with the song, you can click >HERE<  for the lyrics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although there are probably many depths to his genius, I believe that his greatest assets were threefold – lyrics, music, and the ability to spit words out as easily as you and I breathe air.  He had a peculiar penchant for re-using lyrics from previously recorded songs.  Other artists have done this before him, but the way in which he did it and the meaning that his re-used lyrics brought to the songs took on a life of its own.

I cited this song from his collection because it is my favorite rap song ever, but, his repertoire was seemingly endless when it came to great lyrics, music, and spitting.  A few that come to mind which, in my humble opinion, that come close to the greatness of “Can’t C Me” are “Hit “Em Up”, “Death Around The Corner” and he even did a few love songs that were worth mentioning, which included “Can You Get Away?”.

There you have it – my short and sweet tribute to Tupac.  You owe it to yourself to check out this song .  You can find it on Youtube, of course.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get it to load here.  In the event that you want to save time, here’s a link to the song from Playlist.com:  Can’t C Me.  Perhaps you’ll be as impressed I have been all these years.

Afeni, wherever you are, thank you.  Peace.

 

copyright  2010  blackstarr

freerealm@gmail.com

Photos from The Huffington Post, and The Judiciary Report.

4 Responses to “Cant C Me”

  1. I’d always liked “Keep your Head Up” .. in my older age, I am opening up my mind to his music and others’. I am trying to get past the blatant cussing .. everyone has to speak his or her mind. He and his peers are no different than I.

  2. That was one of my favorites, as well, some early stuff. I try not to think about the lyrics too much and just enjoy the music and the rhythms of the rapper. Peace.

  3. The power of his creativity will always be in the forefront of popular culture. He allowed himself to venture past the limitations of his past, his so-called social status and the perceptions main stream society has about Black men. To me he’s an icon. One of my fav things about him is his rap style, that funky, sexy flow.

  4. Creativity – that’s the keyword! And he definitely had a few stories to tell. Peace.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

